Catching Up

Well ladies and gents, I’m back! May was a doozy. Jackson graduated college!!! Can I get a whoop whoop?!?! We traveled to Louisiana to celebrate his sweet sister (and previous guest blogger) Julia graduate high school!! Can I get another whoop whoop?! I started my job as manager in training and it’s going swimmingly. I traveled to beautiful Kentucky to celebrate the life of a friend who recently passed away and got to support one of my very best friends in the process. May was full of happy hugs, and some sad tears, but all in all it was another glorious month in my life. Being on a hiatus was truly wonderful. Not only am I coming back to blogging with fresh eyes, but I feel more excited to get back to doing something I’m passionate about! So look forward to some meatier posts and not as much fluff. I can’t wait to share some of the things I’ve written and I hope that they will be an encouragement to you!

This past month has really been an eye-opener. As I’m writing this I am still fresh from coming home from Kentucky. I am struck by verse two of Ecclesiastes seven which says, “It is better to go to the house of mourning than to go to the house of feasting, for this is the end of all mankind, and the living will lay it to heart.” It’s a hard verse to understand sometimes because in our worldly mindset we are all about things that make us happy, and we don’t understand why things that make us sad are important. It’s in those sad moments, in the ones where we realize that life is fleeting and gone in a moment, that our eyes are opened to the things that matter in this life. Where are we in our relationship with God? Is that relationship a priority or has it been pushed to the back burner? Are we striving for Heaven or just trying to get through the day? Do our loved ones know that we love them? Do we remind them every chance we get? Are we present in our lives or are we just caught up in the monotony? These are questions that I hope you will answer to yourself. We got to celebrate the life of an incredibly wise young man, who loved the Lord first and shared that love with others. I hope you will take his example and learn from it. Love the Lord first, and the rest will work out beautifully.

Abbie

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Love your blog, Abbie, and I’ve missed reading it this past month.
    Glad you’re back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

