Fashion Friday: Wedding Day

Hey y’all! I hope your week has been wonderful! I took last week off since I wrote a Wandering Wednesday and a Fashion Friday in the same week. I hope y’all understand! Who has two thumbs and has had a crazy schedule the last few weeks?…. *points two thumbs at myself*… this girl. But with spring break passed I should not be as busy! So look for more fun posts to come! Today’s post is something that is very dear to me and I thought I would share our special day with y’all! Last Tuesday (April 5) was my husband, Jackson’s and my two year wedding anniversary. TWO YEARS!! It seems strange that it’s already been that long, but time flies when you’re in love. Hehehe! So, I thought today would be a fun day to do a Fashion Friday: Wedding Day edition in memory of the best day ever. AND! It’s a guys and gals edition! Now all of the credit for these pictures go to the absolutely FABULOUS Ashleigh Jayne! Check out some of her other amazing work here! I’m going to try not to post all of my wedding pictures on here.. but it’s going to be really hard because I love all of them. One day down the road I’ll do some other posts about our wedding with some advice and diy projects! So, let’s get down to some wedding day fun, shall we?

0244_moon

These were our wedding day outfits! Our wedding was centered around a vintage theme, so my dress was an authentic 1950’s gown and he had his bow-tie and fedora! We can start with his outfit first!

PicMonkey Collage

Look at that handsome fella! Hehe! When we were deciding on what Jackson should wear at the wedding our main goal was something vintage and comfortable. Now, you have to realize that April in Louisiana is a bit unpredictable, but you could almost always guarantee that it would be humid. Jackson is a naturally warm-bodied person, so a full suit just wasn’t going to cut it. Which I loved! I had always dreamed of my guy in a bow-tie and suspenders! We aren’t exactly known to be traditional people, and I love that our outfits reflected that!

0066_moon

His blue shirt is from Express and his grey pants were ordered online from Dockers. We ordered his green, blue, and grey striped bow-tie from The Tie Bar. His dress shoes are from Call It Spring, and his hat is from Target! I really liked the idea of him wearing a different colored shirt than all his groomsmen. They wore white. It was funny, when we were shopping for his outfit, he put the white shirt on and we liked it. But then he put the blue shirt on and I was like, “Nope! That’s it!” To this day I’m so glad he wore the blue shirt! Ok, my turn!

0179_moon

So. Many. Pictures. This is where it gets really hard. I see a collage heading your way. Let’s start with my accessories first.

Accessories Wanderings Blog

My shoes are Alfani and I got them at Macy’s. I really wanted something with a peep toe and something nude. I wanted the focus to be on my dress, and not so much on my shoes so I didn’t want anything too flashy! My earrings, necklace and hair pin are from this adorable little shop in St. Francisville, LA called Grandmother’s Buttons. All the jewelry is made from old buttons! The hair pin was custom-made for me. I loooovveeedd the moon button and I wanted a backing to match with the necklace and earrings, so they made me a hair pin! I highly recommend  Grandmother’s Buttons for beautiful, one-of-a-kind, vintage jewelry pieces!  And good news, they ship!

0163_moon

The sash I’m wearing was made by me! I got a piece of long silk and some burlap flowers and just sewed them together! Super easy to do and the whole thing cost me $10. Ok, so I just want to talk about my veil for a second because it has a neat little story behind it. I was still in beauty school while I was planning our wedding, so several of my regular clients would ask me how the wedding planning was going. One day I was talking to one of them about finding this veil on Etsy, but it was kind of expensive and I didn’t really want to spend a lot of money on that. After that, we talked about what all was going on in her life and about her daughter who was a few years younger than I was. All in all, it was a good visit and she loved her hair so it was great! After she left one of the front desk workers came up to me and handed me a $50 bill. I was obviously confused, so I asked why he was giving this to me. He told me that my guest had given me a $50 tip and asked him to tell me that the money was to go specifically to that veil I found online that I had fallen in love with. Needless to say I was in tears! So this was my special veil, paid for by an almost complete stranger! Thinking about it now still makes me tear up!

0268_moon

Now let’s talk about my dress. When I was trying to find a dress I wanted to find something truly vintage and unique. All I could find in my area was a David’s Bridal, and that just wasn’t working for me. Luckily, I was going to visit my dad and family in Ohio. When I got there I looked up vintage wedding dress stores, and to my surprise I found a little dress shop called Miranda’s Vintage Bridal. The first day we went to check it out, she was closed. But in the window, I saw this dress. I looked at all of the intricate design in the lace and the adorable doily pattern on the bottom. I loved the big skirt and it’s tea-length. I turned to my dad and said, “I have to try that dress on.” I made an appointment and it took everything I had in me not to be impatient. The day came and I, along with my dad, grandma, sister, and her best friend who is like a sister went to the shop. I tried a few other dresses on before I requested to try the dress in the window on. When I put my dress on and walked out to show my family I lost it. They lost it. I never thought I would be the type to cry when I found my dress, but I was mistaken. It was everything I wanted and more!

0307_moon

So this is it, my friends. I’ll send you off with a few more of my favorite pictures from the day.

0852_moon

Here’s to you my Jackson, my love. Thank you for the most wonderful two years of my life. I am so blessed that I get to spend forever with such a wonderful man! I love you!

0863_moon

❤ Abbie

Leave a Reply

