Book Page Centerpiece

Hey y’all! Hope you’re Monday has been bearable so far! I know down here a lot of the kids are out for Thanksgiving break already, so maybe you’re off too. I hope that’s the case! I don’t know about you, but I am really excited about Thanksgiving this year! I went to Publix today to pick up some last minute details for Thanksgiving cooking and everyone just seemed to be in a happy and cheerful mood! I love days like that!! This year Jackson and I aren’t going anywhere for Thanksgiving (due to me having to work Black Friday….enter terrified face…) so I decided to make a Thanksgiving meal for just the two of us. This is going to be a first for me, but I’m looking forward to all the cooking! Even though it’s just going to be the two of us, I still feel the need to decorate (just a little) and make everything look nice! So today I’m going to share with you a quick tutorial on how to make a book page centerpiece for your dining room table! You could also make it into a table runner, but we have a round dining room table, so mine will just be a centerpiece. (If you want to make a table runner just glue the pieces in a line rather than a circle.) This is great for a last minute decoration, because it only took me about 20 minutes to make! I love quick and pretty projects, don’t you? Let’s get started!! All you are going to need for this project are some book pages, a pair of scissors, mod podge or some other type of craft glue, and something to put the glue on with like an old paintbrush.

IMG_5707

Once you’ve gathered all your supplies take a stack of about 20-30 pages of book paper and cut out a leaf shape about 4 or 5 inches in length. After you’ve cut your leaf shape you can choose to leaf (hahaha) it alone or you can cut little slits in the sides to make it look more like a feather. I went with the later.

IMG_5712

When you’ve cut those start to take the modpodge and gluing the feather pieces together. I started shaping the feathers to go in a circle.

IMG_5714

Once you have completed the circle, you can choose to leave it like that or you can continue to add more pieces into the middle.

IMG_5715

If you keep going with the feathers you can glue a sheet or two of book pages in the center so it gives you something to help it stay together.

IMG_5718

You can just keep adding pieces until you have a complete circle! I cut out smaller feather shapes to add a little more dimension. It’ll look something like this:

IMG_5721

Congrats! You just finished an easy, pretty, and crafty centerpiece! This is my table setup for Thanksgiving! I had some rustic wood candle holders laying around that my Dad made me for my wedding, so I went ahead and put them on the table with some flowers I made out of book pages!

IMG_5722

I plan on doing a few other posts before Thanksgiving so stay tuned! Hope y’all have a great evening!

❤ Abbie

P.s. You’re welcome for the leaf pun. 😉

Leave a Reply

