Wandering Wednesday: New Orleans, LA

Hello everyone and happy Wandering Wednesday!  Today, we are taking a trip down to the Big Easy! When we moved to Baton Rouge I was really excited to take a trip down to New Orleans because I had heard so much about all of the historical areas! Let me tell you, the first time we went to the French Quarter in Nola (New Orleans LA) my jaw was dropped pretty much the whole time. It’s such a beautiful city and they have done a phenomenal job restoring it after Katrina! So we are going to take a lovely stroll down the streets of New Orleans and enjoy the jazz music and the smells of cajun food!

First things first, when you visit New Orleans you have to go to Jackson Square. It’s quintessential Nola. The St. Louis Cathedral stands in the middle of the square.

You can go inside the beautiful cathedral on most days and I definitely suggest you stop in! In front of the cathedral is a small fenced-in park. On the weekends local artists set up their paintings, drawings, and photographs around the park on the fences.

People even dress up as living statues. It’s a ball! Above is my friend Adele with her new statue friend!

Seriously this place is an artists paradise! There is just an amazing artistic energy in Nola! There’s also about a million art galleries you’ll find while walking around the French Quarter. Each one is very unique and you could probably make an entire day just out of visiting them!

 Musicians sit around on the streets and play everything from jazz to folk music!

And did I mention that there are about a million amazing places to eat?!? The best part of New Orleans besides the beautiful architecture is the delicious food! For lunch/ dinner I have 2 places I highly recommend. The first is Johnny’s Po-Boys.

Their po-boys have been featured on “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.” I will warn you that  a full size po-boy is about the size of your face so they are good for sharing! Also, this place is cash only. Below are my lovely friends, Anna and Adele, modeling their yummy po-boys!

The second place I recommend is called The Grill. It’s an adorable soda fountain with incredible food and milkshakes! My personal favorite meal is the One-Eyed Buck (shown below) and a Chocolate Cherry Freeze (milkshake). For dessert (if you still have room) the pecan pie is phenomenal!

I would be remiss if I didn’t tell you my favorite (and everyone’s favorite, quite honestly) New Orleans staple food,  beignets! Cafe Du Monde which is in Jackson Square is the best place ever! They have beignets which are basically powdered sugarary heavenly goodness that taste somewhat similar to funnel cakes, but 1000 times better. I also suggest you get a Cafe Au Lait (coffee with milk) also! They are also cash only so come prepared!

Also they are kind of messy, so don’t mind leaving covered in powdered sugar like we did! 🙂

So now I’m just going to flood your screen with some of my favorite pictures of New Orleans that I’ve taken.

It’s hard not to fall in love with this city. Around every turn is something beautiful and historical. Hopefully you’ll get to visit….

Happy wandering everyone!

❤ Abbie

Leave a Reply

