Cajun Chicken and Potato Skillet

Hey everybody and happy Monday! If you’re feeling down today, I have a yummy recipe that’ll bring those spirits right back up! Today we are going to be cooking Cajun Chicken and Potato Skillet! Now, having lived in Louisiana I can tell you one of the absolute best cajun seasonings out there is called Tony Chachere’s Creole seasoning. It’s somewhat of a staple ingredient there. Seriously, this seasoning is good on everything! Call me crazy, but I even put it on scrambled eggs! The good news is you can buy this seasoning at most grocery stores even if you don’t live in Louisiana. So with today’s recipe you are going to want to buy some of this yummy seasoning!

You will need a chicken breast, potatoes, red peppers, green peppers, onion, and some creole seasoning! First thing you’ll want to do is cube your potatoes and get them boiling. You want them to be soft, but not mushy. When they are soft, pour them into a colander and leave them until later needed.

Next cube your chicken, sprinkle it with cajun seasoning, and start cooking it in a large skillet. Cook chicken thoroughly and until brown on the sides. Remove from the heat.

While the potatoes and chicken are cooking I started chopping up the red peppers, green pepper, and onion. My favorite thing about cooking is all of the colors! I love mixing fresh ingredients and seeing the beautiful colors! Something about it just makes me feel like I am eating healthier and that is always a plus!

Place all of the red peppers, green peppers, and onion into a skillet and saute with vegetable oil. After those get somewhat soft, add in the potatoes. Cook those ingredients  together until the potatoes start to get golden brown.

Next add the chicken in and if you’d like you can add cheese and cook a little longer. I added my cheese to my bowl instead of in the skillet. I figured it might store a little better if I didn’t put the cheese on in the skillet. At this point I also added some more cajun seasoning and salt. I just really wanted the flavors to pop!

This meal is definitely a keeper! It was super easy and delicious! If you really want to be adventurous you could even do this as a breakfast scramble…. yeah I’m going to have to try that! 😉 Hope this cleared up some of those Monday blues!!

Ingredients

1 Chicken Breast, cubed – 3 medium sized potatoes, cubed – red bell pepper, diced – green pepper, diced – onion, diced – 1 tbsp Vegetable oil -Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning – salt – Mexican Cheese

Recipe

1. Cut potatoes into cubes. Boil until soft.

2. Cut chicken into cubes. Sprinkle on cajun seasoning and cook in a skillet.

3. Chop red bell pepper, green pepper, and onion. Saute in skillet. Add boiled potatoes and cook.

4. Add all the ingredients into skillet. You can add cheese if you’d like.

5. Enjoy!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I live in the west and I haven’t done much with Creole Seasoning. However, Cajun Chicken sounds interesting. I’ll have to give this one a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

